Your Choice!


At the start of our 75th Anniversary Celebrations this year, the first concert series features some of our most popular items from the early days right up to the present. The title, Music For All, was first used for a series of concerts in 1945 and 1946 – read more about them in our new Digital Archives. The concert includes perennial favorites such as Ponchielli’s Dance of the Hours and Gounod’s Ballet Music from Faust together with other works that are heard less often these days – Eric Coates’ London Suite, Suppé’s Light Cavalry Overture and Sullivan’s Overture, Di Ballo.

The concerts will be at Sutton Coldfield Town Hall on Sunday 17 January at 19:30, and at Birmingham University’s Elgar Concert Hall on Sunday 24 January 1t 15:00

As a special treat, we’re also inviting the audience on the day at each concert to select a further work from a choice of three –

Delius – On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring
Vaughan Williams – Fantasia on Greensleeves
Elgar – Nimrod from the Enigma Variations.

The chosen work will then be added to the programme. Friends of the orchestra have already had their choice included – Saint-Saëns’ Dance Macabre – and members of the orchestra chose the last movement of Dvorak’s New World Symphony.

Now it’s your turn! Tickets for the concerts are available via the website, by telephone or on the door.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *